• Julia Jarcho wins Obie!


    Julia Jarcho, Rhetoric graduate student, has just won a 2013 Obie for best new American play! Read all about it here ... and for a full New York Times review, click here. read more

  • Congratulations Anthony Cascardi


    The Renaissance Society of America (RSA) has selected Professor Anthony Cascardi's book Cervantes, LIterature, and the Discourse of Politics as the winner of the Phyllis Goodhart Gordan Book Prize for 2013. The award will be announced at the RSA conference in San Diego on Saturday, April 6, 2013, at RSA's annual awards ceremony. The prize committee received over 90 nominations this year. read more

  • Congratulations to Linda Williams


    Congratulations to Prof. Linda Williams (Rhetoric and Film & Media Studies) who received the 2013 Distinguished Career Achievement Award at the Society for Cinema and Media Studies Conference in Chicago in March. The Distinguished Career Achievement Award was established to recognize and celebrate the achievements of established scholars in cinema and media studies. Nominations for the SCMS Distinguished Career Achievement Award are invited from the… read more

  • Prof. Dan Melia receives service award


    Prof. Dan Melia (Rhetoric and Celtic Studies) received the Distinguished Service Award February 25 from Dean Anthony Cascardi of the Arts and Humanities Division, in recognition of his longstanding service to the University. Dean Cascardi noted in particular Prof. Melia's dedicated commitment to the Academic Senate. read more

  • Rhetoric Spring Colloquium


    The Rhetoric Department is pleased to present three talks this semester, given by affiliated scholars:   Tuesday, March 19, 5 pm. Raymond Kania, PhD (Univ. of Chicago, Classics), Lecturer in Rhetoric and Classics "Ecphrasis and the Incomplete in the Virgilian Corpus" Dwinelle 370 Tuesday, April 2, 5 pm David Selby, PhD (UCSD, Political Theory), Visiting Scholar in Rhetoric "Towards a Republican Political Theology: Alexis de… read more

  • Profile of Julie Napolin


    From the New School web site:Moments of inspiration often happen to people when they least expect them: relaxing after dinner, or feverishly studying to get into grad school. As it happens, flashes of mental lightning struck novelist Joseph Conrad and newly minted Eugene Lang College The New School for Liberal Arts professor Julie Napolin, at just those moments, respectively. And neither life was ever the… read more

  • Open Faculty Position in Visual Culture


    The Department of Rhetoric at the University of California, Berkeley seeks to appoint an Assistant Professor (tenure track) or Associate or Full Professor (with tenure) in the area of Visual Culture starting in Fall semester 2013. Requirements: Ph.D. or equivalent by date of hire; excellent research profile and demonstrated record of scholarship that addresses the production and interpretation of visual works in their conceptual, political… read more

  • Trinh T. Minh-ha book receives AESA award


    Professor Trinh T. Minh-ha's book, Elsewhere, Within Here: Immigration, Refugeeism and the Boundary Event, has received the 2012 Critics Choice Book Award of the American Educational Studies Association (AESA). read more

  • New Book by Helene Mialet


    Hawking Incorporated: Stephen Hawking and the Anthropology of the KNowing Subject University of Chicago Press Hélène Mialet These days, the idea of the cyborg is less the stuff of science fiction and more a reality, as we are all, in one way or another, constantly connected, extended, wired, and dispersed in and through technology. One wonders where the individual, the person, the human, and the… read more

  • Judith Butler awarded Adorno Prize


    See the full story here: http://newscenter.berkeley.edu/2012/09/12/butler-wins-adorno-prize/. Here is the press release: Das Kuratorium des Theodor-W.-Adorno-Preises unter Vorsitz des Kulturdezernenten Professor Felix Semmelroth hat getagt und die amerikanische Philosophin und Literaturwissenschaftlerin Judith Butler zur Preisträgerin des Jahres 2012 gewählt. Der mit 50.000 Euro dotierte Preis wird alle drei Jahre von der Stadt Frankfurt am Main zum Gedenken an den Philosophen Theodor W. Adorno vergeben und dient… read more