• UCHRI Medicine & Humanities Awards Kathleen Powers: The Andrew Vincent White and Florence Wales White Graduate Student Scholarship


    The dissertation project, “Cybernetic Origins of Life”, is about the influence of vitalist concepts of the organism on post-war American neurology. The project focuses on the experiments and writings of neurologist Warren S. McCulloch (1898-1969) on the vertebrate nervous system to gain an understanding of how life was considered in the philosophy of science immediately before the genetic revolution. By analyzing the experiments that informed the… read more

  • On Kojève and Colonialism


    Danilo Scholz, Fulbright Schuman Postdoctoral Fellow (Columbia University) "From Colonialism to Third Worldism? Alexandre Kojève and the Developing Nations (1945-1968)" Wednesday March 4, 5 pm Dwinelle 3335 (Level C)   Sponsored by the Rhetoric Department With generous support from the Critical Theory Program, the German Department, and Der Kreis: German History Working Group (DAAD) read more

  • New Book by Katherine Chandler (Rhetoric PhD 2014)


    Unmanning How Humans, Machines and Media Perform Drone Warfare (Rutgers University Press, 2020) by Katherine Fehr Chandler Assistant Professor, School of Foreign Policy Georgetown University, Washington D.C. Unmanning studies the conditions that create unmanned platforms in the United States through a genealogy of experimental, pilotless planes flown between 1936 and 1992. Characteristics often attributed to the drone—including machine-like control, enmity and remoteness—are achieved by displacements… read more

  • Summer Session 2020


    Each year the Rhetoric department offers summer courses that introduce any curious mind to the methods and approaches of humanistic inquiry. Explore how thinkers and theorists across the humanities help us to understand some of the most urgent problems of our time.   For information about our Summer Session courses click here: read more

  • Spring Rhetoric Commencement Ceremony 2020


    The Spring 2020 Rhetoric Department Commencement Ceremony will take place at 9:00AM, Thursday, May 21st in Zellerbach Auditorium. read more

  • Introducing: Major Maps


    The Rhetoric Department is taking part in the Major Map Pilot Program, a new initiative on campus that aims to produce a comprehensive resource to help students plan and navigate their undergraduate experience based on their field of interest. Below is a quote from the UC Berkeley Undergraduate Education website describing the purpose of the Major Map: "Major Maps are a new resource created to… read more

  • Theories of the Global South


    The Program in Critical Theory’s Fall 2019 working group, Theories of the Global South, will host its third meeting on October 25 from 12-2 pm in 7415 Dwinelle Hall. To prepare, the co-conveners, Donna Honarpisheh (Comparative Literature) and Devin Choudhury (Rhetoric) kindly request that participants read Chapter 1 and Chapter 2—entitled “The Subject of Race” and “The Well of Fantasies,” respectively—of Achille Mbembe’s Critique of Black Reason. This working group will… read more

  • The Rhetoric Undergraduate Mixer


    The Rhetoric Society at Berkeley warmly invites new and returning rhetoric students to a kick-off mixer for the 2019-2020 year. Join us for food, good conversation, and tell us what events you'd like to see for the current and upcoming semester!  As dinner will be provided, please RSVP via the form so we can get an accurate headcount. All prospective and current rhetoric students welcome!  WHEN: OCT. 24th, 7-8pm. WHERE:… read more

  • Professor Trinh T. Minh-ha is the Focus of this Year’s Research Season at the CCA Wattis Institute for Contemporary Art


    Conversation with Professor Ute Meta Bauer, Founding Director of NTU Centre for Contemporary Art Singapore. CCA Wattis Institute for Contemporary Art*, September 24, 2019, 6:30pm   Screening of  Shoot for the Contents—a film shot in China by Trinh T. Minh-ha —Phyllis Wattis Theater at SFMOMA on Oct 17, 7pm. Introduction by Professor Viet Le; Q&A with Trinh T. Minh-ha to follow.   Lecture by Trinh T. Minh-ha on… read more

  • NOW ACCEPTING APPLICANTS: Assistant Professor – American Politics of Race – Department of Rhetoric


    The Department of Rhetoric at the University of California, Berkeley seeks applications for a tenure-track faculty position at the Assistant Professor level in the field of American politics of race, with an expected start date of July 1, 2020. At the time of application, applicants must either hold a Ph.D. (or equivalent international degree) or be enrolled in a Ph.D. or equivalent international degree-granting program.… read more